What to Do After an Uber Accident in Florida
June 12, 2022
Uber accidents are becoming an increasingly common occurrence in Florida. Pursuing a claim for compensation after an Uber accident is a somewhat different process than your typical car accident claim. If you’ve been involved in an Uber accident, you should familiarize yourself with the steps you need to take in order to collect the compensation you deserve.
Read more: What City in Florida Has the Most Car Accidents?
Steps to Take after an Uber Accident
In order to protect your rights and interests and ensure that you have every available option for financial recovery for any injuries or losses you suffer due to the accident, you should remember the following steps to take after an Uber accident:
- Get the contact and insurance information from the Uber driver and all other drivers involved in the accident.
- Talk to any eyewitnesses to the crash and ask them for a short written or recorded statement or their contact information in case you later need to reach out to them for a statement or testimony.
- Take photos or videos of the accident scene, damage to vehicles involved in the crash, and any visible injuries you’ve suffered.
- See a doctor as soon as possible after the accident to get examined for any injuries you may have suffered (including ones that may not be causing you any pain yet).
- Notify your insurance company of the accident. In Florida, you must first turn to the personal injury protection coverage in your own auto policy to pay for medical expenses. However, your policy may require you to provide your insurer with notice of an accident within a certain time frame to be eligible for coverage.
- Finally, contact a personal injury attorney for a consultation to discuss your legal rights and options for seeking compensation from Uber or another at-fault party.
Read more: How Do I Protect My Rights After a Car Accident?
Uber’s Insurance Policy
Under Florida law, rideshare companies such as Uber are required to furnish their drivers with certain insurance coverages. The total coverage available can fluctuate depending on the circumstances of the accident. Uber’s insurance policy in Florida includes coverage for:
- If the Uber driver is logged into the Uber mobile application and is awaiting a passenger ride request: $50,000 per person/$100,000 per incident of bodily injury liability coverage, and $25,000 per incident of property damage liability coverage
- If the Uber driver has accepted a passenger ride request or has an Uber passenger in the vehicle: $1 million of combined bodily injury/property damage liability coverage
If the driver is not logged into the app, then Uber’s insurance policy does not apply and anyone injured by the driver will have to look to the driver’s own personal or commercial auto insurance policy.
How Long You Have to File an Uber Accident Claim in Florida
Under Florida’s statute of limitations on motor vehicle accident claims, you must file a lawsuit to pursue your claim for an Uber accident within four years of the date of the crash. If you file suit after the limitations period on your claim has expired, Uber, its driver, and its insurance company can move to permanently dismiss your case from court, meaning you will lose your right to seek financial compensation.
Read more: How Long Does it Take to Get a Settlement After a Car Accident?
Contact a Lake Worth Personal Injury Lawyer to Discuss Your Uber Accident Case in Florida
Did you or a loved one sustain serious injuries due to an Uber accident in Florida? Don’t let the medical bills pile up while you wait for the negligent party or their insurance company to do the right thing. Right now, you need an aggressive personal injury attorney on your side, fighting to get you the compensation you need, want, and deserve. The skilled, bilingual attorneys at Gonzalez & Cartwright, P.A. represent clients injured because of Uber and Lyft accidents in Pembroke Pines, Hollywood, Boca Raton, Davie, and throughout Florida. Call (561) 533-0345 or fill out our online contact form to schedule a free consultation about your case. We have an office conveniently located at 813 Lucerne Ave., Lake Worth, FL 33460, as well as offices in Pompano Beach.
The articles on this blog are for informative purposes only and are no substitute for legal advice or an attorney-client relationship. If you are seeking legal advice, please contact our law firm directly.