Uber & Lyft Accident Lawyers South Florida
Uber and Lyft Accident Attorneys Fight for Our Clients’ Rights to Compensation in Palm Beach County, Broward County, and Throughout South Florida
Uber, Lyft, and other ridesharing services are a relatively new phenomenon that have skyrocketed in usage because of the prevalence of smartphones and the general convenience of the service itself. With a few taps on the phone screen, passengers can now be transported throughout the community without ever having to exchange cash with a driver. However, Uber and Lyft drivers are individual drivers who operate their own vehicles, which has generated controversy when it comes to determining who is liable for compensatory damages after an Uber or Lyft accident. Specific Florida insurance laws now apply to Uber and Lyft drivers, and the rules differ from those that apply in typical car accidents involving private parties.
The Fort Lauderdale Uber & Lyft accident attorneys at Gonzalez & Cartwright, P.A. know that Uber and Lyft have become highly valuable in our clients’ lives because these ridesharing services typically transport them from point A to point B without incident. However, motor vehicle accidents do happen, and we are here to protect the rights of our clients who have been injured in an Uber or Lyft accident. In many cases, because of the new laws and complexities of the Uber and Lyft business structures, you may not even know who to contact in order to begin pursuing your right to claim damages after a ridesharing accident. We are here to help, even if you only need assistance in completing the insurance claims.
Uber and Lyft Driver Safety Requirements in Florida
Although Uber and Lyft are relatively new forms of transportation in South Florida, the Florida legislature has already enacted a law designed to protect passengers who use Uber or Lyft as a mode of transportation. All Uber and Lyft drivers are required to pass a background check, which includes a criminal background check, before they are eligible to drive for Uber or Lyft. Further, a new Florida law provides that the following insurance coverage requirements apply, based upon whether the Uber or Lyft driver is carrying a passenger at the time of the accident:
- No passenger: If the Uber or Lyft driver is not carrying a passenger but is logged into his or her account so that the driver could accept passengers, Florida law requires insurance coverage of $100,000 for death and bodily injury per incident, $50,000 for death and bodily injury per person, and $25,000 for property damage.
- Driving with a passenger: If the Uber or Lyft driver has a passenger in the vehicle, Florida law requires primary automobile liability coverage of at least $1 million for death, bodily injury, and property damage.
Note that for a personal driver, Florida law only requires $10,000 in personal injury protection (PIP) coverage and $10,000 in property damage liability insurance.
Steps You Can Take After an Uber or Lyft Accident
Florida’s new insurance coverage requirements for Uber and Lyft drivers protect passengers, drivers of other vehicles, and even pedestrians who may be injured in an Uber or Lyft accident. Despite this, complexities can arise in pursuing compensatory damages for injuries sustained in an accident involving an Uber or Lyft driver in Fort Lauderdale or somewhere else in Florida. To protect themselves after an Uber or Lyft crash, passengers should consider taking the following actions:
- Seek medical attention: The first step after any car accident is to seek medical attention when needed, and this holds true in the case of Uber and Lyft accidents as well.
- Request camera footage: Many Uber and Lyft drivers have a camera operating on their dash while a passenger is in the vehicle, and the passenger is entitled to receive a copy.
- Take photos and obtain witness contact information: The smartphone that was used to retain the Uber or Lyft driver can also be used to document the scene and store the contact information of any witnesses.
Why Choose Attorneys Gonzalez & Cartwright to Protect Your Rights Following an Uber or Lyft Accident?
Although Florida is a no-fault state, meaning that individuals typically seek compensation from their own insurance companies following an accident, Uber and Lyft are excluded from this law. This means that an injured party will generally seek compensation from the Uber or Lyft insurance policy following an accident. Our Fort Lauderdale attorneys have 15 years of experience actually working in the insurance industry, and we understand that it is in the best interest of the insurance company to minimize the amount of compensation that it must pay. This is the case even though Uber and Lyft policies must provide an increased level of coverage.
If you feel that you are not being appropriately compensated for your injuries or property damage following an Uber or Lyft accident, or if you are having difficulties communicating with the insurance adjusters, contact our offices today. All of our attorneys are bilingual, and we have a reputation for successfully obtaining full and fair compensation from the insurance companies in Lyft and Uber accident cases.
Schedule a Free Consultation
If you or a loved one has been injured in an Uber or Lyft accident in South Florida, contact our offices at 561-898-0497, or toll free at 888-888-3903, to schedule a free initial consultation today.We have our main office located at 813 Lucerne Ave, Lake Worth, FL 33460, as well as an office in Pompano Beach, Florida.
Uber / Lyft Accident Legal Services in Areas Nearby
Frequently Asked Questions About South Florida Uber & Lyft Accidents
Uber and Lyft are now required to conduct thorough background checks on all drivers. Individuals will not be entitled to drive with Uber or Lyft if they have been convicted of a felony, reckless driving, a hit and run accident, or drunk driving. Sex offenders also are not permitted to drive for Uber or Lyft.
We handle Uber and Lyft accident cases throughout all of South Florida including but not limited to:
–Palm Beach County Uber and Lyft Accidents
–Broward County Uber and Lyft Accidents
-Pompano Beach Uber and Lyft Accidents
-Lake Worth Uber Accidents and Lake Worth Lyft Accidents
-Fort Lauderdale Uber Accidents and Fort Lauderdale Lyft Accidents
–Boynton Beach Uber Accidents and Boynton Beach Lyft Accidents
–West Palm Beach Uber Accidents and West Palm Beach Lyft Accidents
-Boca Raton Uber and Lyft Accidents
-Delray Beach Uber and Lyft Accidents
-Wellington Uber and Lyft Accidents
-Miramar Uber and Lyft Accidents
-Coral Springs Uber and Lyft Accidents
-Sunrise Uber and Lyft Accidents
-Plantation Uber and Lyft Accidents
-Jupiter Uber and Lyft Accidents
-Hollywood Uber and Lyft Accidents
No. If you are an Uber or Lyft driver but were not actually working or looking for work at the time, the general Florida car accident laws should apply. This means that Florida’s no-fault system will probably apply, and it is your own insurance company that you must first look to for compensation.
Do I Need My Own Insurance If I Drive For Uber?
Do I Need My Own Insurance If I Drive For Lyft?