Sunrise Car Accident Lawyers
Auto Accident Injury Attorneys in Sunrise, FL at Gonzalez & Cartwright, P.A. Help Accident Victims Collect Rigfhtful Compensation for Their Injuries in Broward County and Throughout Florida
Car accident lawyers aren’t just useful for filing a lawsuit. When insurance companies won’t pay your claim or don’t want to pay the amount you deserve, our Sunrise car accident lawyers can help you fight for your rights and recover the compensation you need to recover medically and financially.
Sunrise is in Broward County, which has one of the highest car accident rates in the state. In 2022, the county had 35,393 reported accidents, 20,885 injuries, and 237 fatalities.
Get Free Advice From An Experienced Car Accident Lawyer. All You Have To Do Is Call 561-898-0497 or Fill Out Our Free Case Evaluation Form.
Our trusted auto accident injury attorneys in Sunrise, FL can help you file claims against third-party insurers from the party responsible for the accident. If necessary, you’re also within your rights to file a lawsuit against the at-fault party and their insurers.
Proving Fault After a Car Accident in Sunrise or Elsewhere in Florida
In Florida, where we have no-fault insurance, claims are supposed to be straightforward. The law requires everybody to carry Personal Injury Protection (PIP), which pays for medical treatment regardless of who caused the accident.
However, things are not usually that easy. For one, the $10,000 minimum coverage is often too little to cover treatment in cases of serious injuries. In addition, Property Damage Liability (PDL) may not be enough to cover car repair or replacement in the event of a total loss. In this case, you must file a third-party lawsuit, which requires you to prove the other party was at fault.
The police and insurance company will complete investigations and determine who was at fault for the accident before compensation can be awarded. Car accidents fall under personal injury law, where you must prove another party’s negligence and show that it led to your injury or loss.
You need solid evidence to prove that the other party was negligent and responsible for the accident. For example, evidence of speeding, driving under the influence, reckless driving, and ignoring traffic signs and signals is a good indicator of negligence.
It’s important to collect evidence at the scene or have someone do it for you, which includes taking photos and videos of the scene, getting the contacts of witnesses, and collecting a copy of the police report.
You should also visit a doctor as soon as possible after the accident, even if you feel okay. Florida’s PIP 14-day rule says that you should see a doctor within 14 days of an accident, failing which you could be ineligible for PIP coverage for any injuries sustained.
What If You’re Partly at Fault for The Accident?
If evidence shows that you were also partly responsible for the accident, it can be harder to demand full compensation. Luckily, Florida follows comparative negligence laws, meaning you can still recover compensation, but the amount awarded will be reduced according to your share of fault.
For example, if you’re awarded $60,000 and you’re found to have been 20% at fault, you will receive $48,000. Comparative negligence also allows you to recover compensation from multiple parties based on their percentage of fault.
Imagine a drunk driver T-boned your vehicle, but the vehicle’s weak sides caused you to suffer unusually severe injuries. You can sue the vehicle manufacturer if there is documented evidence of faulty manufacturing.
How Our Sunrise Car Accident Lawyers Can Help You File a Claim After Suffering Injuries in an Auto Accident
If you establish that the other driver or party was negligent, you can hold them responsible for your injuries by filing a third-party claim against their insurer. Their insurance company will investigate your claim and, if they find that their client was indeed at fault, negotiate an appropriate settlement.
This settlement can help cover any additional medical bills not covered by your own Personal Injury Protection (PIP) policy. However, proving that the other driver was primarily at fault isn’t easy, so you’ll need an in-depth investigation and solid evidence to prove fault.
Sometimes, you may be able to work with your insurance company to help prove fault. This is particularly important if the other driver is underinsured or uninsured, but you’ll need uninsured motorist coverage.
Working with your insurer can be very helpful up to a point, but you’re likely to recover significantly more compensation by working with the experienced auto accident injury attorneys in Sunrise, FL at Gonzalez & Cartwright, P.A.
Schedule A Free Consultation With An Experienced Car Accident Lawyer – Call 561-898-0497 or Fill Out Our Free Case Evaluation Form.
Damages You Can Receive After a Sunrise, FL Car Accident
When you file a third-party lawsuit, you can recover compensation for your medical treatment, lost income, and even non-economic losses such as pain and suffering due to the accident. That includes damages for:
- Compensation for past, present, and future income loss as a result of the accident
- Treatment and rehabilitation expenses, including long-term costs associated with a temporary or permanent disability
- Emotional suffering and trauma suffered, including loss of enjoyment of life
- Disabilities and disfigurement suffered in the accident
If you suffered serious injuries, such as the loss of an arm or leg, the total compensation could reach thousands or even millions of dollars, which could help you get back on your feet and support your family.
When to Sue the At-Fault Party
Before you decide to sue the at-fault party or their insurer, you’ll first need to go through the normal claims process. That includes internal reviews/appeals as required by the insurance company and external appeals set up by the state.
If these fail or if the insurance company is acting in bad faith, you can file a lawsuit against them. Bad faith includes actions like failing to communicate, refusing to give a reason for denying your claim, or offering a lowball amount that can’t cover your treatment costs.
You can also sue the party who caused your accident personally if:
- They’re not uninsured
- They caused the accident due to gross negligence, such as drunk driving or texting while driving
- They fled the accident scene
- The total amount recovered from their insurer still can’t cover your total losses
You can also sue other parties, such as government agencies that failed to maintain roads or car manufacturers for faulty vehicles.
Whatever the reason, it’s important to consult with our qualified Sunrise car accident lawyers to review your case so we can advise you on which legal channels to follow and help represent you in negotiations or in a court of law.
Why Hire Gonzalez & Cartwright’s Sunrise Car Accident Lawyers?
Whether you’re filing a third-party claim or filing a lawsuit against a negligent party after a car accident in Broward County or the surrounding areas, our auto accident injury lawyers in Sunset, FL can help you win your case. We have decades of experience and expertise working throughout Florida, including taking large cases to trial, where we have recovered millions for our clients. But our biggest source of pride is our highly personalized approach to every case. Our bilingual team works closely with you to help make your journey as easy and fulfilling as possible.
Car Accident Legal Services in Areas Nearby
Frequently Asked Questions About Car Accidents in Sunrise, FL
What should I do if I’m in a car accident?
I was hit by a car, what should I do?
Should I talk with my insurance company if I was in a car accident?
How are black boxes utilized in new cars in accidents?
Do I have a car accident claim?
How long do I have to file a car accident claim?
How long will my case take to resolve?
How do I choose a car accident lawyer?
How much does it cost to hire an attorney for my car accident case?
What should I know about contingency fees?
Can I file a car accident claim if I’m undocumented?
What is a good settlement offer for my car accident?
Who is at fault in a car accident?
Can I sue if I was a passenger in a car accident?
The police and insurance companies conduct investigations to determine who is at fault. They rely on evidence such as dash and traffic cam footage, witness statements, and photos of the accident scene. They may also ask for your statement to try and reconstruct what happened at the scene.
Rear-end collisions and angle collisions are some of the most common car crashes in Florida. Many of these involve speeding, distracted driving, or driving while under the influence. However, many other accidents also involve cyclists, motorcycle riders, and pedestrians.
Have you had a car accident in Sunrise, FL, or anywhere in Broward County? Our compassion and dedication make it easy to claim your deserved compensation as you recover from your accident. Talk to us and get your free case evaluation today.